Out This Week 10/12 1-Picks

October 11, 2011 at 1:48 pm (Comics) (, , , , , )

If I Could Only Pick One…

Single Issue

X-Men Regenesis #1

Crazy hard week of pickin’s. Not only is nearly every x-book I wait all month to read hitting, we’ve got some really knock outs across the board. American Vampire is a contender every month, as is the beautiful Batwoman (warning, Batwoman is amazing, but not very new reader friendly in spite of what the numbering may tell you), as well as a Hickman double ship of FF #10 and S.H.I.E.L.D #3. We’ve also got guilty pleasure Legion of Monsters debuting.  I’ve got to give it to X-Men Regenesis (if Brooks was still on Uncanny X-Force, that would have taken the cake).

After a solid, but not mind-blowing start to Schism, I was a bit nervous that this whole thing would fall short of my impossibly high expectations. That all changed with Schism #4, and the resolution in #5 while predictable (intentionally so with all the marvel pimpage), was unexpectedly poignant. Good on you Mr. Aaron! Therefore, getting Gillen’s on panel tale of the fall out has me on the edge of my seat. I wouldn’t be so excited if Gillen wasn’t so fabulous with characterization and character driven moments. This is important. I want to know why each person makes their choice, and I want it to make sense. Don’t just divvy up the $$ makers for the sake of it. I’ve got complete confidence in Gillen to pull this off, and it gets my 1-pick for the week X-Men Regenesis

trade

The Keep

This is based on (and written by) the novel with the same name, that became the movie with the same name that 8-year-old me loved enough to read the book. Questionable parental decisions, aside, in my memory, is it AMAZING!!!  Also, incredibly well suited to the graphic arts. In what I imagine had to be at least one of the first nazi-zombie-maybe vampire stories, F. Paul Wilson pulls out a hell of a tale (or so inner 8-year-old me keeps saying).  While I should be pushing something like the new printing of Azzerello’s 100 Bullets, or the GLORIOUS Wolverine omni by Jason Aaron (which is truly glorious), here I am, telling you you MUST get this book you’ve never heard of.

Here’s hoping it doesn’t suck!

Pick it up through Amazon if you can’t find it at you local shop

Leave a comment, and let us know your 1-Picks!

Leave a comment